2015 – 2016 book club books

 

UnknownFebruary 2015: The Fair Fight, Anna Freeman – Georgian life in Bristol for women involved in the bare knuckle fight circuit: Jane Austen with the gloves off! The author is appearing at the Bath Litfest, email them on info@bathfestivals.org to find out details and get your free copy of the book.

 

 

ggMarch – Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn. Who are you? What have we done to each other? These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears

 
The Miniaturist jacket.jpgApril – The Miniaturist, Jessie Burton. On an autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman knocks at the door of a grand house in the wealthiest quarter of Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. Only later does Johannes present her with a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in unexpected ways . . .

 

51xeXD2W63LMay 2015: We are all Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler A psychologist father’s animal-human behaviour experiment on his children has unexpected and heartbreaking repercussions

 

 

514N5mft51L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_June 2015: Jambusters by Julie Summers
The story of the W.I. in the Second World War

 

 

 

guest_cat_cover-v2July 2015: The Guest Cat by Tashii Hirade
A wonderful Sui generics novel about a visiting cat who brings joy into a couple’s life in Tokyo

 

 

 

81M34qlAoTL._SL1500_August 2015: A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler
Short listed for Baileys prize for women’s fiction 2015.a family story by the writer of the accidental tourist

 

 

 

the-pigeon-goodwill-august-20112011September 2015: The Pigeon by Patrick Suskind
How a pigeon roosting above the door of a Parisian security guard affects him over the course of one day. this is Suskind’s first book since Perfume

 

 

the-beesOctober 2015: The Bees by Laline Paul
Set in a bee colony. Short listed for the Baileys women’s prize for fiction the judges called it “an animal farm for the 20th century”

 

 

 

9781780721798November 2015: What Was Never Said by Emma Craigie
A Somali family now settled in Bristol. What happens when the cutter arrives in Zahras’s british home in her G.C.S.E. year

 

 

 

chris bakeDecember 2015: The Parisian Christmas Bake Off by Jenny Oliver
Rachel has a week of baking to show she is a star baker to become Paris’s
next patisserie apprentice.

 

 

Harry QuebertJanuary: The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker.

Gaby Wood of the Telegraph says “it may be the cleverest creepiest book you will read this year.”

 

 

chopraFebruary: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan
“Mumbai, Murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming joyful mystery. For fans of Alexander Mcall Smith and Rachel Joyce” Good reads

 

 

secret roomssecret roomsMarch: The Secret Rooms by Catherine Bailey

A true Gothic Mystery. “Reads like the best kind of mystery story. It is a tale of mistresses and heirlooms, cowardice and connivance and a deeply dysfunctional family. Gripping” the Sunday Times.

 

 

appletree-usApril: Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

Yvonne Carmichael has a high-flying career, a beautiful home and a good marriage, but when she meets a stranger she is drawn into a passionate affair. Keeping the two halves of her life separate seems easy at first. But she can’t control what happens next.

 

hopeMay: Hope, a Tragedy by Shalom Auslander

Solomon Kugel has had enough of the past and its burdens. So, in the hope of starting afresh, he moved his family to a small rural town where nothing of import has ever happened. Sadly, Kugel’s life isn’t that simple. His family soon find themselves threatened by a local arsonist and his ailing mother won’t stop reminiscing about the Nazi concentration camps she didn’t actually suffer through. And when, one night, Kugel discovers a living, breathing, thought-to-be-dead specimen of history hiding in his attic, bad very quickly becomes worse.

The-boys-in-a-boatJune: The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

Cast aside by his family at an early age, abandoned and left to fend for himself in the woods of Washington State, young Joe Rantz turns to rowing as a way of escaping his past. What follows is an extraordinary journey, as Joe and eight other working-class boys exchange the sweat and dust of life in 1930s America for the promise of glory at the heart of Hitler’s Berlin. Stroke by stroke, a remarkable young man strives to regain his shattered self-regard, to dare again to trust in others – and to find his way back home. Told against the backdrop of the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is narrative non-fiction of the first order; a personal story full of lyricism and unexpected beauty that rises above the grand sweep of history, and captures instead the purest essence of what it means to be alive.

61e7L1SJZpL._SX300_July: Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller

1976: Peggy Hillcoat is eight. She spends her summer camping with her father, playing her beloved record of The Railway Children and listening to her mother’s grand piano, but her pretty life is about to change.

Her survivalist father, who has been stockpiling provisions for the end which is surely coming soon, takes her from London to a cabin in a remote European forest. There he tells Peggy the rest of the world has disappeared. Her life is reduced to a piano which makes music but no sound, a forest where all that grows is a means of survival. And a tiny wooden hut that is Everything.

fundamentlistAugust: The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid

‘Excuse me, sir, but may I be of assistance? Ah, I see I have alarmed you. Do not be frightened by my beard I am a lover of America…’ So speaks the mysterious stranger at a Lahore cafe as dusk settles Invited to join him for tea, you learn his name and what led this speaker of immaculate English to seek you out. For he is more worldly than you might expect; better travelled and better educated. He knows the West better than you do. And as he tell you hi story, of how he embraced the Western dream and a Western woman and how both betrayed him, so the night darkens. Then the true reason for your meeting becomes abundantly clear… About The Author Mohsin Hamid grew up in Lahore, Pakistan, and attended Princeton University and Harvard Law School. Moth Smoke, his first novel, was published in ten languages, won a Betty Trask Award, was a PEN/Hemingway Award finalist, and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. He has written about world politics from a Muslim perspective for Time, the New York Times.

skinSeptember: Under the Skin by Michel Faber

Isserley spends most of her time driving. But why is she so interested in picking up hitchhikers? And why are they always male, well-built and alone?

Advertisements